stafford school logo

Patricia Healy, Rock Hill District, was unanimously voted chairwoman of the Stafford County School Board on Tuesday.

The board then approved Dewayne McOsker, George Washington District, as vice chairman by a vote of 4-3, with board members Jamie Decatur, Griffis-Widewater District; Irene Egan, Aquia District; and Holly Hazard, Hartwood District, casting the dissenting votes.

Pamela Yeung, Garrisonville District, had nominated McOsker, a split second before Egan also nominated Decatur for the job.

Also at the meeting, Superintendent Bruce Benson discussed snow days with the school board.

He noted that due to the recent inclement weather, the school division has 3.03 days of banked time left for elementary schools; 3.74 days for middle schools; and 5.22 days for high schools.

On Jan. 4 and 5, as well as Tuesday, classes were canceled due to inclement weather. On Monday, there was a two-hour delay and an early release.

The next meeting of the school board will be Jan. 16, when Benson will give his recommendations for the Fiscal 2019 budget.

— Tracy Bell

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.