AUSA Scholarship Progam 2020

The AUSA Fairfax-Lee Chapter's scholarship ceremony was a virtual event. 

 The AUSA Fairfax-Lee Chapter awarded 17 scholarships to local high school and college students and celebrated the birthday of the U.S. Army during a video teleconference on June 15.

Over the past eight years, the chapter’s scholarship program has dispersed $150,000 in scholarships.  Awardees are high school seniors and current college students at undergraduate and graduate levels. Recipients include soldiers, family members, Army civilians, and ROTC/JROTC cadets.

This year the chapter received 27 applications, from which 17 were selected to share in the $8,000 raised for this year's program. Kathy Callahan, acting program chairperson, introduced the awardees, each of whom briefly described who their application essay was about - a soldier or veteran who inspires them.   

Lt. Gen. Darrell K. Williams, director of the Defense Logistics Agency, gave a keynote address in which he paid tribute to the hard work and dedication of the students. He also talked about the importance of having “anchors” in life -- values and good habits that sustain people in turbulent times.  

The event concluded with recognizing the Army’s 245th birthday with a virtual cake.   

The scholarship winners were:

  • Yuni Choi, West Springfield High School
  • Katherine French, Princeton University
  • Matthew Friel, University of Oklahoma
  • Rebecca Giles, West Springfield High School
  • Diana Halick, Lake Braddock High School
  • Austin Hogeboom, Robinson High School
  • Jacqueline Jedrych, Catholic University
  • Jana Jedrych, Catholic University  
  • Claire Kollhoff, Boston University School of Medicine
  • Jarrett Lash, New Yok University
  • Hannah Malloy, St Timothy’s High School (Baltimore)
  • Josh Marion, Hayfield High School
  • Ian McCullough, Lake Braddock High School
  • Ashley Pearson, Hayfield High School
  • Evan Victor, American University
  • Elijah Wasson, Flint High School
  • Katherine Wood, Wake Forest University

Corporate sponsors of the scholarship program include  BAE Systems, Peduzzi Associates LTD, GEICO, Wells Fargo, and George Mason Mortgage.  Individual donors include Nancy Jean-Louis, Guy Sands-Pingot, The McJohnson Family, Dave Halverson, Kathy Callahan, Hellen Pennington, Roland Bostick, Tom Seamands, and Andy Rivera.   

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.