McGeary rejoins Arlington Electoral Board

Scott McGeary, center, makes a point following his swearing-in to the Arlington Electoral Board on March 31, 2016. At left is Clerk of the Circuit Court Paul Ferguson, at right is Electoral Board chairman Charlene Bickford.

Scott McGeary, who has spent most of his life in Arlington and long has been active in the civic and business arenas at the local, regional and state levels, will be enshrined in the Arlington Business Hall of Fame during a ceremony set for early next month.

McGeary, an attorney, currently serves as director of state public policy for Washington Gas, and has been active in the Arlington Chamber of Commerce (where he served as chairman), Northern Virginia Chamber of Commerce (where he has chaired the NOVABizPAC public-policy arm), Loudoun County Chamber of Commerce, Alexandria Chamber of Commerce and Virginia Chamber of Commerce.

In the civic arena, McGeary currently serves as secretary of the Arlington Electoral Board, served two terms leading the Arlington County Civic Federation, held leadership posts with the Arlington Committee of 100, has been a member of the county’s Board of Zoning Appeals, and is a past chairman of the Arlington County Republican Committee. He also has served as vice rector of George Mason University, where he had earned his law degree.

McGeary has worked for Washington Gas since 1999. Prior to that, he had been executive vice president and general counsel of the Northern Virginia Building Industry Association, having joined the organization in 1983 as its first legislative assistant.

McGeary will join two dozen past inductees into the Business Hall of Fame, including John Milliken, Rich Doud, William Buck, John Shooshan, Emerson Reinsch,  Russell Hitt, Sidney Dewberry, Ashton Jones, W. Sydney Albrittain, James Cole, Jonathan Kinney, Joseph Wholey, Mort Zetlin, Dr. Kenneth Haggerty, Fred Burroughs, Preston Caruthers, Joel Broyhill, Herb Morgan, Elizabeth Campbell, Dr. Jack London, Neal Nichols, Henry Lampe, David Guernsey and Bob Peck.

The hall of fame, sponsored by the Arlington Chamber of Commerce, is designed to salute those who both have had long-standing and successful careers in the Arlington business community, and have been intimately involved with civic and community affairs.

The induction ceremony will take place as part of the Chamber’s annual Arlington’s Best Business Awards dinner, to be held on Wednesday, May 2 at the Key Bridge Marriott. Registration is open through April 27.

For tickets and information, see the Web site at