2015 Arlington County decal winner 2

Finalists Lauren Graft of Washington-Lee High School, Ingrid Jacobsen of Wakefield High School, Marisa DeFranco of Wakefield High School and Tommy Casey of Yorktown High School are shown with Sonia Johnston of John Marshall Bank, Treasurer Carla de la Pava and Electoral Board secretary Allen Harrison Jr. following the Jan. 27, 2015, announcement that Casey's design was selected for the 2015-16 Arlington tax decal.

If imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, the Arlington treasurer’s office must be feeling awfully good.

The treasurer of neighboring Falls Church has announced plans to emulate Arlington’s student-decal competition, encouraging youth to submit designs that will go on the tax decal placed next to state inspection stickers on vehicles.

“We saw how successful Arlington County’s design contest was, so we wanted to do the same,” Falls Church Treasurer Jody Acosta told the Falls Church News-Press. “The high-school students in this area are amazingly talented.”

As with Arlington’s decal competition, success comes with a reward: The winner in the Falls Church contest will receive $750, with smaller prices for second, third and fourth place. The competition runs through Feb. 5.

Arlington’s student-decal competition has been in place since 2005. The brainchild of then-Treasurer Frank O’Leary, it was retained by his successor, Carla de la Pava.

Arlington’s decals appear on about 160,000 vehicles annually; Falls Church’s decals can be found on about 13,000.