W-L girls win state crew championship

The Washington-Lee High School girls varsity eight gathers with its winning shell and the state-championship trophy, winning the title for the first time in 30 years. (W-L crew)

The Washington-Lee High School girls varsity eight won its first state championship in 30 years at the recent regatta at Sandy Run Regional Park in Occoquan.

The winning shell recently was named the “Millie B” and that state regatta was the shell’s first competition of any kind.

The shell was stroked by junior Aidan Wrenn-Walz, who has received an invitation to Junior National Team Selection this summer. The eight rowers in the shell were Isabel Mondshine, Reilly Halvorson, Ava Canfield, Paige Wheeler, Ellie Walsh, Jianna Ursitti, Kate Cobey and Anne Low.

The Washington-Lee eight now moves on to national competition in coming days.

The W-L crew program has been in existence for 70 years. It is thought to be the oldest high-school team in the D.C. area.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.