Better Sports Club photo

Student athletes gather with the trophies they received at the June 5, 2019, Better Sports Club banquet. (Photo by Jim Coates Photography)

Wakefield High School seniors were saluted as Male and Female Athletes of the Year at annual banquet of the Better Sports Club of Arlington.

The 63rd annual event, held June 5 at the Knights of Columbus, which was packed with athletes, family members, coaches and friends.

Wakefield’s Lorenzo Rajaonarievelo, who won a state wrestling championship at the 160-pound weight class and will wrestle at George Mason University, was named the club’s 2019 Male High School Student Athlete of the Year. His Wakefield classmate, University of Virginia-bound multi-sport competitor Lucy Greenfield, was chosen the Female High School Student Athlete of the Year.

Each received a $1,000 scholarship from the club.

Wakefield’s longtime wrestling coach, Jeff Humphries, was named the Arlington Coach of the Year. Humphries has coached the Wakefield team for 26 years, the second-longest tenure of any head high-school wrestling coach in the old Northern Region alignment, and said he has no interest in stepping down.

“I just can’t leave these kids,” Humphries said. “They are too great to walk away from. They keep me coming back.”

There were 30 individual high-school Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year Awards bestowed at the event. They went to Yorktown’s Will Fineman, baseball; Wakefield’s Hannah Foley, girls basketball; Yorktown’s Ryan Van Kirk, boys basketball; Yorktown’s Sydney Honorable, cheer; Washington-Lee’s Anne Low, girls crew; Washington-Lee’s Alex Canfield, boys crew; Washington-Lee’s Eva Smith-Perry, girls cross country; Bishop O’Connell’s Max Greczyn, boys cross country; Washington-Lee’s Alexis Parks, field hockey; Wakefield’s Billy Long, football; Yorktown’s Lacey McCormack girls golf; Yorktown’s Matthew Cornfield, boys golf; Yorktown’s Julia Hays, gymnastics; Washington-Lee’s Logan Ehrlich, ice hockey; Yorktown’s Megan Hemstreet, girls lacrosse; Bishop O’Connell’s Riley Fitzsimmons, boys lacrosse.

Also, Yorktown’s Dylan Duhamel, rifle; Yorktown’s Katie Belt, girls soccer; Yorktown’s Billy Blake, boys soccer; Washington-Lee’s Sydney Rood, softball; Yorktown’s Kayle Park, girls swim and dive; Yorktown’s Ryan Soh, boys swim and dive; Yorktown’s Isabel Tate girls tennis; Yorktown’s Tommy McGuire boys tennis; Yorktown’s Catherine Whitehouse, girls track and field; Wakefield’s Josh Sutton, boys track and field; Washington-Lee’s Miranda Baltaxe and Cordelia Collinson, ultimate disc; Bishop O’Connell’s Kelley Moriarty, volleyball; and Washington-Lee’s Owen Potts, wrestling.

Youth Sportsmanship awards went to Beatrice Compton (softball), Jack Butler (baseball) and John Dolaher (Challenger).

Bill Fahey, the commander of American Legion Arlington Post 139, reminded the June 5 audience that the banquet was being held the night before the 75th anniversary of D-Day, and that many American soldiers lost their lives that day so such celebrations could be held in the U.S.

The club’s Arlington Sportsperson of the Year was Shirley Brothwell, a longtime Arlington Little League volunteer, wearing many hats for the organization.

The Club’s Member of the Year and President’s Award went to Phyllis O’Dell, presented by club president Chris Valtin.

Byron Kerr, who among other broadcasting jobs covers the Washington Nationals, was the master of ceremonies. He announced all the winners. There was no guest speaker this year.

The club honors high school senior student-athletes in many sports from the four main Arlington high schools, including a male and female Athletes of the Year. A high school coach of the year is named.

Also at the banquet, six new Arlington Sports Hall of Fame members were recognized and introduced by Hall of Fame president Jim Smith.

There will be a separate banquet held for the inductees on Sept. 11, bringing to 50 the number enshrined since the hall was founded in 1955.

This year’s inductees are football standouts John Crone and Reggie Harrison, basketball coach Maynard Hathcock, multiple-sport athlete Bernie Kirchner, wrestler Milt Sherman and Anne Viviani, a standout runner, triathlete and duathlete.