Woodlawn student connects with legislators

Caroline Tornquist, a student at H-B Woodlawn Secondary Program, met with state Sen. Barbara Favola (D-31st) as she geared up to serve as House Speaker pro tempore in the 2018 Model General Assembly session.

Two of the three state senators in Arlington’s legislative delegation will chair committees in the 2020 session, which opens Jan. 8.

State Sen. Janet Howell (D-32nd) has been tapped to chair the Senate Committee on Finance, while Sen. Barbara Favola (D-31st) will chair the Committee on Rehabilitation & Social Services.

Democrats won control of the state Senate in the Nov. 5 elections, and will enter the 60-day session with a 21-19 majority. State Sen. Dick Saslaw (D-Fairfax/Falls Church) will be Senate Majority Leader.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.