Oakton Hall of Fame group

All 28 inductees into Oakton High School’s initial Athletic Hall of Fame are show in action or their positions during their time at the school. Ceremonies were Jan. 19-20. (Photo from Oakton)

Oakton High School has started an athletics hall of fame and held its first induction ceremony, which had 28 initial members, on Jan. 19 at noon at International Country Club in Fairfax. Also, the inductees were announced and some were on hand to be introduced at the school on Jan. 18 between varsity basketball games pitting Oakton against Vienna rival Madison.

One of the oldest inductees was former head baseball coach Tom Hall. He was he first of only three head coaches of the sport in school history. Scott Rowland and Justin Janis are the others.

A picture of the three together at the Jan. 19 ceremony with some info on their accomplishments can be found on the Northern Virginia Baseball Magazine's Twitter site.

Following is the list of inductees and the years they graduated form Oakton with the sports they played.

Ned Gonet (1976) baseball, basketball, football; Deb Rohr (1978) basketball, softball, tennis; Jim Hill (1979) cross country track; Troy Nieves (1979) track, football; Stephanie Zeh (1981) soccer, tennis, basketball; Dan Burmeister (1982) football, basketball, track; Fred Kramer, Jr. (1982) baseball, football, basketball; Susan Nangle Noe (1982) basketball; Jeff Palmucci (1982) wrestling, football; Chris Turner (1987) golf, basketball.

Also, Carrie McKee (1990) basketball; Mike Orris (1991) wrestling; Kristi Van Buren (1994), gymnastics; Danielle Leyfert (1997) basketball;  Brian Welch (1997) football, wrestling, track; Matt Maline (2001) cross country, track; Keira Carlstrom DíAmato (2002) cross country, track; Bonnie Meekins ((2002) track and field; Mike Ott (2003), swimming; Kelly Kimener Bausher (2004) lacrosse, field hockey; Jared Kubin (2004) baseball, basketball; Cody Grimm (2005) football, lacrosse; Katie Moran DíAngelo (2006) field hockey, lacrosse; Keith Payne ((2006) football, lacrosse; Jasmine Thomas (2007) basketball; Ashley Angel-Kimener (2008) lacrosse, field hockey; Tom Hall (1968-1999) baseball coach; Sandy Reynolds - athletic director and coach.

State championship teams: 1978 boys cross country, 1985 golf, 1993 girls gymnastics.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.