football generic.jpg

The Virginia High School League announces its 2022 Class 5 all-state football team. In addition, Highland Springs junior quarterback is the Class 5 Offensive Player of the Year, and Highland Springs sophomore linebacker Brennan Johnson is the Class 5 Defensive Player of the Year. In addition, Highland Springs head coach Jeremy Blunt is the Class 5 Coach of the Year.

The 6’4”, 190-pound Martin completed 60.5 percent of his throws (129-213) for 2,388 yards (18.5 yards per completion) and 32 touchdowns with only one interception. In addition, Martin had 98 carries for 706 yards rushing and 14 touchdowns. The Region 5B offensive player of the year holds multiple offers, including Old Dominion, Virginia, Virginia Tech, Indiana, and Maryland.

Brennan Johnson led a defensive unit that produced six shutouts, allowed 47 points in the regular season, and a total of 90 points in 15 games. The 5’11”, 175-pound Region C defensive player of the year finished his sophomore year with 72 solo tackles, 30 assists, 22 tackles for loss, and four sacks.

He added one forced fumble, one fumble recovery, six pass blocks, and two interceptions on defense. On special teams, Johnson had a blocked punt, blocked field goal, and a blocked extra point. Johnson holds offers from Virginia Tech, Penn State, Ole Miss, Old Dominion, and Miami (OH).

Head coach Loren Johnson led Highland Spring to its fifth state title under his guidance with a 15-0 campaign ending with a 33-19 win over Maury in the Class 5 finals. The Springers won four straight state championships from 2015 through 2018. In 13 seasons leading the Springers, Johnson has a 142-20 career record.

Thirty-two (32) players make up the first-team and second-team all-state (Offense: one quarterback; four linemen; one center; three running backs; three wide receivers; one tight end; one kicker; one kick returner; one all-purpose offensive player. On defense: three defensive linemen; two defensive ends; four linebackers; four defensive backs; one punter; one punt returner; one all-purpose defensive player).

Each all-state selection committee comprises eight football coaches (2 from each Region).



Quarterback Khristian Martin Highland Springs 11

Center Isaiah Whitehurst Maury 12

O. Lineman Christian Murphy Maury 11

O. Lineman T’Khi Alexander Highland Springs 11

O. Lineman Alex Musselman Stone Bridge 12

O. Lineman Chris McCullers Woodgrove 12

Running Back Peyton Jones Maury 12

Running Back Aziz Foster-Powell Highland Springs 12

Running Back Ike Daniels Mountain View 12

Receiver Keylen Adams Green Run 11

Receiver Da’Vontae Floyd Maury 11

Receiver Takye Heath Highland Springs 12

Tight End Mathias Barnwell Riverbend 12

Kicker Dallas Slaughter Nansemond River 12

Kick Returner Victor Romain Bethel 11

O. All-Purpose Zeke Wimbush Stone Bridge 12



D. Lineman David Anderson Kecoughtan 12

D. Lineman Miles Greene Highland Springs 12

D. Lineman Frank Coleman Highland Springs 12

Defensive End Ari Watford Salem 10

Defensive End Micah Smith Stone Bridge 12

Linebacker Zakai Hall Green Run 12

Linebacker Lance Nelson Highland Springs 12

Linebacker Brennan Johnson Highland Springs 10

Linebacker Darius Taylor Highland Springs 12

Def. Back Da’Vontae Floyd Maury 11

Def. Back Takye Heath Highland Springs 12

Def. Back Braylon Johnson Highland Springs 12

Def. Back Myles Turpin Stone Bridge 11

Punter Avery Heleniak Midlothian 12

Punt Returner Takye Heath Highland Springs 12

D. All-Purpose Kelvin Seay Maury 12

Offensive player of the year: Khristian Martin Highland Springs 11

Defensive player of the year: Brennan Johnson Highland Springs 10

Coach of the Year: Loren Johnson Highland Springs



Quarterback Kevin White, Jr. Green Run 12

Center David Rodelo Stone Bridge 10

O. Lineman Deacon Rawls Kempsville 11

O. Lineman Roman Soriano Nansemond River 11

O. Lineman David Anderson Kecoughtan 12

O. Lineman Terrell Jones Highland Springs 12

Running Back Damari Palmer Green Run 10

Running Back Naiquan Washington Pearce Kempsville 12

Running Back Jeremiah Coney Hermitage 12

Receiver Quran Boyd Kempsville 12

Receiver Jakrye Henley Highland Springs 11

Receiver Colton Hinton Stone Bridge 11

Tight End Nate Clark Kempsville 12

Kicker Dylan Dastejerdi Stone Bridge 12

Kick Returner Rashad Lewis LC Bird 11

O. All-Purpose Lebron Bond Maury 10


D. Lineman Shaun Sanders Kempsville 12

D. Lineman Bless Mack Maury 11

D. Lineman Eric Mensah Mountain View 11

Defensive End Immanuel Ezeogu Nansemond River 11

Defensive End Jason Abbey Freeman 12

Linebacker Mike Thomas Nansemond River 12

Linebacker Isaiah Simmons Maury 9

Linebacker MarcAnthony Parker Riverbend 12

Linebacker Kris Jones Mountain View 11

Def. Back Milton Ferguson Green Run 11

Def. Back Kaevon Blanding Green Run 11

Def. Back Tyler Baker Green Run 11

Def. Back Ian Wynn Highland Springs 12

Punter Brett Starling Kecoughtan 12

Punt Returner Josh Powell Maury 11

D. All-Purpose Lance Nelson, Jr. Highland Springs 12

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.