Yorktown football player Max

Max Patterson helped the Yorktown football team win a passing league title. (Photo by Deb Kolt)

The Yorktown Patriots won a recent seven-on-seven high-school passing league football championship, led by coach Becky Bonzano. The Patriots defeated their regular-season Liberty District rival South Lakes, in the title game.

Players for the championship Yorktown team were Colby Distaso, James Brady, Evan Rotker, Eamon Schmidt, Seth Roberts, Sam Keenan, Porter Landefeld, Max Patterson, Charlie Rowe, Ben Porter, Pius Atubire, Grant Wilson, Tajaun Perry and Brenden Rindfusz.

Drew Holland and Austin Brown were the other coaches.

Passing leagues are touch leagues with no tackling and little contact and limited running plays.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.